Another Day, Another Mayoral Commission

Another Day, Another Mayoral Commission


Today Mayor Newberry announced his initial appointees to the Mayor’s Commission on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Plan. Lex’s stimulus Wish List included 196 projects at $556 million.

The appointments are: Mayor Newberry as chair; City Senior Advisor Joe Kelly; Acting Commissioner of Public Works Mike Webb; Commissioner of Environmental Quality Cheryl Taylor; Commissioner of Finance and Administration Kyna Koch; Public Safety Commissioner Tim Bennett; Vice Mayor Jim Gray; and Council Members Kevin Stinnett, Peggy Henson’ and Ed Lane.

Community appointees are State Rep Susan Westrom; State Rep Bill Farmer; Commerce Lex’s Tyrone Tyra; Urban League’s David Cozart; Housing Authority’s Austin Simms; UK’s Lisa Higgins-Hord; and United Way’s Kathy Plomin.


Click here to read PDF of Ace page 5 2.05.2009. Ace recommends additions to the Commission.